New York City Marathon

26.1 miles in the cold

4. november 2018
All day
New York City

The first New York City Marathon, organized in 1970 by Fred Lebow and Vince Chiappetta, was held entirely in Central Park. Of 127 entrants, only 55 men finished; the sole female entrant dropped out due to illness. Winners were given inexpensive wristwatches and recycled baseball and bowling trophies. The entry fee was $1 and the total event budget was $1,000.


The 2016 TCS New York City Marathon had a record number of finishers, 51,394, setting a new mark as the world's largest marathon. Ghirmay Ghebreslassie of Eritrea became the youngest male winner in race history; Mary Keitany of Kenya won the women's race for the third consecutive time. Wheelchair champions were Marcel Hug of Switzerland and Tatyana McFadden of the United States (winning the marathon grand slam for the fourth time).

At the 2017 TCS New York City Marathon on Sunday, November 5, 2017, Shalane Flanagan was the first American woman open-division champion in 40 years, crossing the finish line in 2:26:53. Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya scored his first marathon victory in a time of 2:10:53. Wheelchair champions were Marcel Hug and Manuela Schär, both of Switzerland. The race had 50,773 finishers.



Let's get you set up with a profile to send invitations, allow comments and track RSVPs.

Log in

Add to favorites
You need to create a profil to manage your favorites.

Create a Profile

Registered profiles can invite friends and customize Stuff.

Already user of Stuff? Log in.

Check your inbox

Please click the link in the email we've just sent you.